in , , , , , ,

How not to show i like on Instagram

How not to show i like on Instagram

After reading my guide on how to do like on Instagram, you started to show your appreciation towards the content posted by the users that you follow on the popular social photo network. However, to protect your privacy, you would like to prevent others from seeing content to which you show your appreciation and, for that reason, you have asked yourself how you do not see the likes on Instagram. Well, if this is the question that has brought you here once again, on my blog, know that you’ve come back to the right place at the right time!

In the next paragraphs, in fact, I will show you how you can make your Instagram account private and choose which users to allow your content to be viewed, including “Like”. Besides that, then, I’ll explain how to block specific users and prevent them from controlling your “movements” on Instagram. What do you say? Are you ready to start? Well, then we do not waste any more time. Take five minutes of free time and put into practice the suggestions I am about to give you: you will see that protecting your privacy on Instagram will prove to be much simpler than what you imagine.

Note: even if you set your Instagram account as private or block specific users on the social network, the likes that you will put to public posts will still be viewable by everyone. Moreover, if a user is a follower of a profile in which you have put “Like”, your like will be freely viewable by the latter.

How not to show i like on Instagram – Set up the account as private

How not to show i like on Instagram

As I have already mentioned at the beginning, the only way not to show the “Like” on Instagram is to set up your account as private: in this way only approved followers will be able to view the posts, the likes and comments that you release inside the platform.

By setting your profile as private, your likes will not be visible in the “Activity” feed. However, as I have already mentioned at the beginning, while activating the setting that allows you to make your Instagram profile private, the likes you post to public posts will still be visible to all users and you can also view your username under the post.

If everything is clear to you, continue reading the next paragraphs containing the instructions to set up your account as private. I already anticipate that you can do this only using the official app of Instagram, since this procedure is not executable in the Web version of the photo social network. Then grab your Android or iOS device and follow the instructions below.

How not to show i like on Instagram – Android

How not to show i like on Instagram

To set up your account as private on Android, start the official Instagram app on your device, log in using your credentials (if necessary) and press on the symbol of the man placed in the lower right corner. In the screen that opens, tap the symbol (⋮) located at the top to access the options of Instagram, scroll the screen that displays and locate the submenu Account containing the option that allows you to make your private account.

Then move the switch lever located next to the Private account item to ON and your account will be made private. If you want to redeploy your public profile in the future, all you have to do is go to Options> Account> Private account> OFF and you will be done.

How not to show i like on Instagram – iOS

How not to show i like on Instagram

The procedure to follow on iOS to set up an Instagram account as private is almost identical to that seen previously for Android: you must first start the official app of Instagram on your iPhone, login to your account and tap on the symbol of ‘ man located in the lower right corner.

After carrying out the above steps, presses the symbol (…) located at the top right to access the Options screen and, to conclude, moves the switch on the ON located at the heading Private Account (it is located under the heading Account ). Congratulations, you’ve just managed to set up your profile as private!

If one day you decide to make your profile public again, you will have to go back to Options> Account and move the switch located next to the Private account item to OFF to restore the “original” settings of Instagram.

Note: setting a profile as private is not retroactive. This means that the current followers of the account are automatically authorized to access the latter and then continue to view the contents, including likes. To prevent the display of “Like” to a follower already active on a profile made private, you have to block it (I’ll talk in more detail of this procedure in the last part of the tutorial).

How not to show i like on Instagram – Block a follower to not let him see “Like”

How not to show i like on Instagram

Do you want to prevent “likes” from seeing a follower following you before you make your profile private? In this case, you can block the user in question through the appropriate function integrated on Instagram. Quiet, the user will not receive any notification of the block; simply will not be able to find your profile, your posts or your story on Instagram, or view your “Like” (unless you like to post shared by public accounts or by people followed by the user blocked). The procedure can be easily performed both by the official Instagram app and by PC, through the Web version of the social network.

How not to show i like on Instagram – Android

How not to show i like on Instagram

To block a user on Android, first start the Instagram app on your device, log in to your account (if you have not already done so) and locate the user you want to block. Pie then on the name of the latter (in order to display the profile), tap the symbol (⋮) located at the top right and, in the menu that appears, tap the item Block. You will be asked to confirm the operation: presses then on the item Yes, I confirm and the selected user will be blocked.

If you have correctly executed the procedure I just described you, you will see a message confirming that you have blocked the selected user. I remind you that, despite having blocked the user, this will continue to see your “Like” and the comments you leave to posts shared by public accounts or accounts that follows.

Ah … I almost forgot! You can unlock a user at any time: to do so, go back to his profile, press the button (…) and, in the menu that appears, select the Unblock option.

How not to show i like on Instagram – iOS

How not to show i like on Instagram

Do you want to block a user from the official Instagram app for iOS devices? In this case, start the latter on your device, log in to your Instagram account (if necessary) and locate the user you want to block to prevent him from seeing your “Like”.

Now, presses the name of the follower that you want to block to view the profile and, in the screen that appears, presses the symbol (…) located at the top right. In the menu that appears at the bottom, tap on the item Block and confirm by pressing the Lock button.

If all went well, you will see a message confirming that you have blocked the user in question and will be given instructions to unlock it, eventually, at a later time. Of course, even if you have blocked a user, this can still continue to see your likes and your comments to posts shared by public accounts or accounts that follows. Understand?

If one day you decide to unlock a user you have blocked, go back to his profile, press the button (…) and, in the menu that appears, tap the Unblock button.

How not to show i like on Instagram – Web

How not to show i like on Instagram

At the moment you do not have your Android or iOS device with you and want to act as a PC? No problem, you can do this using the Web version of Instagram. Then connect to the login page to Instagram, login to your account and follow the instructions you find below to figure out how to block a user on Instagram from PC.

If you are logged in to your Instagram account, find the user you want to block and click on his name to view his profile. Now, to block the person in question, click on the symbol (…) that is next to the item Follow and click on the button Block this user to complete the procedure.

Also in this case, the blocked user will be able to see your likes and comments on posts shared by public accounts or accounts that follows. Of course, if you have any change, you can unlock the user at any time: to do this, go back to his profile, click again on the symbol (…) and, in the menu that appears, click the Unblock this user button.

How not to show i like on Instagram

2 Comments

Leave a Reply
  1. Silly web site!! Where social media could I ping the person who wrote this
    article?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *