in , , , ,

How to block a person on Facebook

How to block a person on Facebook

Now stop! Although you have asked him not to do it at least thirty times, one of your pseudo-friends on Facebook continues to infest your diary with phrases and links definitely out of place. Not to mention, then, annoying messages that sends you in private!

Now the only solution left is to block it from your list of friends, so that it can no longer write in your diary and can no longer interact with your account in any way. How do you say? It’s impossible? Obviously you did not consult well the settings page of your account, because blocking a person on Facebook can and is as easy as drinking a glass of water.

If you do not believe it, take two minutes of free time and try it in person: below you will find all the information you need to act on both the smartphone and the computer, with instructions to go back if you had second thoughts and decide to unlock the contact you’ve previously blocked (another operation that requires very few taps or very few clicks, depending on the device you choose to use).

Index

  • How to Block a person on Facebook from smartphones and tablets
  • How to Block a person on Facebook from a PC
  • Alternative solutions how to block a person on Facebook
    – Blocking news in the feed
    – Block on Messenger

How to Block a person on Facebook from smartphones and tablets

If you want to block a person on Facebook using a smartphone or tablet, start the official app of the well-known social network and display the profile of the user you want to block. If you do not know how to do, tap the search bar located at the top, search for the name of the person to be blocked, press the magnifying glass icon and select the profile of your interest from the search results.

At this point, presses the button (…) placed under the profile picture of the person to be blocked, select the item Block from the menu that appears and confirm by replying Block to the warning that appears on the screen.

How to block a person on Facebook

Mission accomplished! From now on, the person you blocked will no longer be able to see what you publish in your diary, can not tag you, can not invite you in groups or events, can not chat with you and can not add you back to friends (after the block, in fact, you will no longer be friends).

If you ask, Facebook will not send notifications to the person you blocked, but this could easily become aware of the fact that you blocked it for all the reasons listed above (the impossibility to chat with you, to see your contents and so on).

If you change your mind, you can unblock a previously blocked user on Facebook by launching the official social network app, pressing the ≡ button and selecting Account Settings (Android) or Settings> Account Settings (iOS) from the screen that opens.

At this point, go to Block, find the name of the person to be unlocked, tap the Unblock button next to it and answer Unblock to the warning that appears on the screen.

How to block a person on Facebook

To conclude, if you want to add again to your friends the person you have unlocked, go to his profile, presses the button Add to friends and wait for it to accept your request.

If the “Add to friends” button is not available, send a message to the user and ask the user to be added to friends.

How to Block a person on Facebook from a PC

If you prefer to act as a PC, the first step you need to take to block a person on Facebook is to connect to the site with your account and visit the user’s profile to be blocked. If you do not know how to do it, click on the search bar at the top, search for the name of the user you are interested in and the Enter.

At this point, select the profile of the person to be blocked from the search results, click on the […] button on the cover image, select the item Block from the menu that opens and confirm by replying Block to the warning that appears on the screen.

How to block a person on Facebook

The game is done! Now the person you have blocked will no longer be on your Facebook friends list, you will no longer be able to see the contents you publish in your diary and will no longer be able to interact with you by sending you private messages or inviting you on groups or pages.

In case you change your mind, know that you can unlock blocked people on Facebook by going to the Settings menu of the social network and selecting the item Block from the left sidebar. If you do not know how to access the “Settings” menu of Facebook, click on the arrow located at the top right (in the blue bar of the social network) and select the appropriate item from the box that appears.

In the page that opens, after selecting the Block item from the left sidebar, move to the Block these users box, find the name of the person to be unlocked and click on the Unblock item next to it. To make the changes effective, answer Confirm to the warning that appears on the screen.

How to block a person on Facebook

From the same page and from the same box (Block these users) you can also block one or more people on Facebook by typing their name or email address, clicking on the Block button and selecting their profile from the list that appears.

Alternative solutions how to block a person on Facebook

Is there a user that annoys you on Facebook but would you like to avoid blocking it permanently? Maybe I have some “softer” solutions that could be for you.

Blocking news in the feed

How to block a person on Facebook

If you are tired of viewing the posts of a user in the Facebook feed, that is on the main page of the social network, linked to the profile of the latter, press the button already follow and select the item Do not follow more from the menu that opens: so by doing, you will not interrupt the friendship with the person in question (so this will be able to view your posts and interact with you), but you will no longer visualize their contents in the social network news feed.

The procedure can be followed by both computers and smartphones and tablets (the steps to be taken are the same on all platforms). In case of change of mind, you can return to view the news of a person simply by visiting his profile and pressing the Follow button in the latter.

Alternatively, if you want to view the list of all users you have blocked in the Facebook news feed and / or you want to unlock the latter, click on the arrow ▼ located at the top right (in the blue social network bar) and select the Preferences item in the News section from the box that appears. Then, click on the item Sign in again in contact with people who no longer follow, select the photos of the people you want to start to follow and confirm by pressing the button End (bottom right).

How to block a person on Facebook

and you prefer to act as a mobile, launch the official Facebook app, tap the ≡ button and select the Voices section of the News section> Sign back in touch with people who no longer follow if you use an Android terminal or the Settings> Section preferences News> Get in touch with people you do not follow if you use an iOS terminal. Then proceed by selecting the names of the people you want to come back to follow in the Facebook feed and you’re done.

Block on Messenger

How to block a person on Facebook

Is there a person that annoys you by storming you with messages on Messenger? In this case you can block it on the Facebook messaging service without preventing it from viewing your content or interacting with you on social network pages.

To block a person on Messenger without blocking it on Facebook, open the official Messenger application on your smartphone or tablet, select the name of the latter and tap the button (s) located at the top right (if use Android) or the name of the user at the top (if you use iOS). Now, scroll to the bottom of the screen that opens, select the Lock option and activate the lever for the Block messages feature.

If you prefer to act as a PC, connected to the messenger.com site, log in with your Facebook account, select the name of the user you want to block and click first on the gear icon located in the right sidebar and then on the item Block the messages in the box that opens. If you do not see the side bar with the gear icon, press the button (s) located at the top right.

Mission accomplished! Now you have blocked the person who bothered you on Messenger and then this can no longer send you messages or call. If you change your mind, to unlock a previously blocked user, return to the Messenger menu (as I explained above) and disable the lock function from there. More details on the subject are available in my guide on how to block a person on Messenger.

How to block a person on Facebook